SMA Governance

The overall governance of the Society of African Missions is the General Assembly.  It is made up of ex-officio members and elected members representative of the various units of the SMA.  The Assembly meets every six years and elects the SMA General Council.
An SMA General Council, based in Rome, is made up of the Superior General, the Vicar General and General Councillors.  It is elected by the General Assembly every 6 years to guide the overall administration of the Society.

SMA Structure

The Society of African Missions is structured into various Units
  • Provinces

  • Districts

  • Districts-in-formation (DF)

  • Regions (all in Africa)

Each Province is under the authority of the Provincial Superior. He is assisted by a Council made up of a Vice-Provincial and a determined number of Councilors. The Provincial Superior and the Provincial Council are elected at the Provincial Assembly after consultation with all the members of the Province.
A Provincial Assembly is held every six years to review the work of the Province and determine its policy for the coming six years. Periodically during the intervening years the Provincial Superior convokes an Extraordinary Provincial Council made up of the Provincial Council and other authorities in the Province.
  • Strasbourg (France)
  • Spain                     
  • Canada                 
Each District is under the authority of the District Superior. He is assisted by a Council made up of a Vice-Superior and a Councilor all of who are appointed by the Superior General after consultation with the members of the District.
Districts-in-formation (DF)
Each District-in-formation is under the authority the Superior General who appoints a District Superior and a Council after consultation with the members of the District-in-formation.
  • Benin-Niger;
  • Central African Republic;
  • Ghana;
  • Ivory Coast;
  • Kenya;
  • Nigeria North and Nigeria South; 
  • South Africa; 
  • Tanzania; 
  • Togo and
  • Zambia. 
A Region is a group of SMA communities, members and associates, working in a specific geographical area in Africa. Each Region is under the authority of the Regional Superior who is elected by the members in the Region for a three-year term.  He is assisted by a Regional Council, representing the different units working in the Region.
There are also SMA priests working in Angola, DR Congo, Egypt, Liberia and Morocco though these are not Region